Posted by Maria José Gidi on


In India I learnt about the existence of the Chakras, the 7 energy centers that go down the centerline of the body. They can also be expressed as the "chi" or life force and just as any other energy system they can be energised or blocked, sometimes slow or out of alignment.

I found all this fascinating and at the same time so mysterious because I could not see it but I obviously felt it.

At that time, I was first drawn into exploring Muladhara, the root chakra, due to my childhood story which led me to be always seeking for a place where I could finally find that deep sense of belonging - belonging and grounding being a major one for Muladhara.

Now that I have found that, not only within myself but also in the beautiful Thai Island I call home - this next energy centre activated, the svadhisthana, showing me how I am ready for its next initiation into the  pleasure of life. 

I was yet to explore my emotional body, my sexuality and sensuality.

Aka the  Water Body within me.

SVADHISTHANA CHAKRA स्वाधिष्ठान: Svādhiṣṭhāna

Element: Water 

Mantra :  VAM

Colour : Orange

Meaning "one’s own abode" in sanskrit - the ancient Indian language 

It is the second vital energy chakra after the Root Chakra or Muladhara. . It represents our ability to feel pleasure, to connect with sensuality and creativity, to also feel the joy of life itself. 

According to the ancient rishis each chakra has a colour, for this one is radiant orange: the colour of sunshine, the dawn of a new day.

Characteristics and Domain

The Sacral Chakra stores sexual energy and desires. When we develop this center we also gain the ability to shape desire and make it real in authentic ways. It is a place of passion and creativity. It allows us to discover opportunities and make choices, create and foster intimate relationships, and encourages emotional well-being. 

When this chakra is balanced and functioning properly, we can expect our relationship with ourselves and the world to feel harmonious, pleasureful, and nurturing. We are able to enjoy the 5 senses with discipline and internal wisdom.

Its element is water and it represents flow and flexibility - assisting in letting go, accepting change and a transformation in life. 

Organs in the Body: bladder, glands, kidneys and reproductive organs

Signs of imbalance : feeling emotionally disturbed, lack of creativity and joy.

Physical Symptoms: lower back pain + sexual blockages + hip issues + joint pain + lack or energy and fatigue + spleen and kidney issues and premenstrual syndrome

Emotional Symptoms: feeling overly dependent on others, sexually obsessed or uninterested, overwhelmed by emotions, difficulty in expressing emotions, needs and creativity.  Inability to feel one's emotions. Feeling disconnected from the world.

Mental Symptoms: Feeling dull and unmotivated. Obsessions. Lack of discipline. Addictions.

Re-balancing the Svadhisthana:

This is the energy center for the vital force or prana ‘vyana,’ which is the energy of circulation. Having the sacral chakra energised and aligned becomes something so important to be in the here and now as it connects you to your inner joy for life and radiance. 

That is when we are the most inspired + when we really want to live and see the magic around us.

1.Do something creative: make art, paint, dance. 

Write a poem, journal or play some music.

Do anything and everything that allows you to enter into an inner flow of self expression and brings fun into the now. That which makes you feel alive.

2. Drink Liquids, stay hydrated. As the element of this chakra is "Ja" or water so it can get dry or stagnant.

Make sure your water is clean and alive! Avoid tap water if it is heavily treated. Even better if your water comes from a local spring or is energised with positive intentions 

3. Spend time near water: spending time by the ocean, a river, or a lake can do wonders. Having a bath or even a shower.

Make it intentional and be mindful of the sacredness of the waters around you, asking them to assist you in regulating your emotional body and inner flow.

4. Food: This chakra is all about bringing vitality and circulation into the body fluids. Stay hydrated with coconut water, spring water and herbal teas.

Nourish it by choosing orange foods such as citruses, sweet potatoes, peaches, apricots, salmon, carrots and egg yolks. Warming stimulating spices such as cinnamon and star anise.

5. Go for a massage to help move your body fluids and lymphatic system. Or even a self massage like Abhyanga. 

Affirmations for Svadhsthana: 

"I have boundaries that protect me" 

"Creative energy is flowing through me

"My emotions are balanced"

"I embrace change as a healthy part of life"

"I am passionate"

"I am connected"

"One who meditates on Svadhishthana is believed to obtain the following siddhis (yogic powers): freedom from enemies, the status of a lord among yogis, eloquence and clarity, loss of fear, awareness of astral entities and the ability to taste anything desired for oneself or others"


← Older Post Newer Post →

Leave a comment